New Technology

APSA Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.
The mission of the New Technology Committee is to update, inform, promote dialogue, and critically assess novel techniques and technologies in Pediatric Surgery so that our members can continue to provide the highest standards of care for infants and children. Mechanisms by which this committee shall achieve these tasks will include but not be limited to: critical review and evaluation of current and future approaches to pediatric surgical problems by systematic reviews; sponsoring surgical innovation and technology sessions within the APSA meetings; and updating membership on new and evolving techniques within our field. The production and publication of periodic reviews in the Journal of Pediatric Surgery, when relevant, is another method by which this committee will provide up to date analysis of technologies, devices, and surgical approaches for the entire APSA membership which is unlikely to be aware of the most current knowledge in these areas. Our committee hopes to provide a venue for review of these areas to the members so that our organization may be involved in the development and monitoring of potentially useful new technologies.

Innovative Therapy White Paper

The APSA New Technology Committee has provided a set of opinions/guidelines that can be used by APSA members and their institutions to inform and advice decision making related to the introduction and establishment of new technology into surgical practice. View the Innovative Therapy White Paper.


Mike K. Chen - Liaison
Univ of Alabama at Birmingham
Sean J. Barnett - Chair
Dayton Children's Hospital
Nam Nguyen - Vice Chair
Children's Hosp Los Angeles
Patrick C. Bonasso - Member
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Anthony DeRoss - Member
Cleveland Clinic Children's
Ian C. Glenn - Member
Harsh Grewal - Member
St. Christopher's Hospital for Children
Marcus Jarboe - Member
CS Mott Childrens Hospital
Jeremy J. Johnson - Member
Oklahoma University Health Sciences Center
Sunghoon Kim - Member
UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital
Mikael Petrosyan - Member
Children's National Med Ctr
Dorothy V. Rocourt - Member
Penn State Hershey Children's Hospital
Beth A. Rymeski - Member
Cincinnati Children's Hosp Med Ctr
Mark L. Saxton - Member
Wesley Medical Center
Joshua J. Short - Member
Pediatric Surgical Associates, LTD
Bethany J. Slater - Member
University of Chicago
Edmund Y. Yang - Member
Osnat Zmora-Beloosesky - Member
Sheba Medical Center