Surgical Critical Care

APSA Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.
The mission of the APSA Critical Care Task Force is to promote optimal care of pediatric surgical patients with critical illness through the development of guidelines for clinical care, education of pediatric surgeons, development of new research, collaboration with pediatric colleagues and patient advocacy.

Handbook of Pediatric Surgical Critical Care

The handbook was written by APSA's Surgical Critical Care Committee: to create a uniform basis for our critical care and pediatric surgical curriculum; to provide another dimension to the training for neonatology, pediatric critical care, and adult critical care fellows; and to be helpful to our colleagues, who already in practice, as a point of reference in the care of the most complex surgical patients. View the handbook.

Pediatric Surgery Critical Care Fellowships

View detailed descriptions of accredited PSCC programs including contact information for the program coordinator and program director as well as “real-time” availability of training positions for the current and subsequent academic year.

Surgical Critical Care Committee Literature Reviews 

This committee prepares quarterly reviews of the scientific literature which is of interest to the pediatric surgeon’s practice, but which may be outside the usual literature sources that the pediatric surgeon surveys. The selections are reviewed by the members of the Surgical Critical Care Committee, but are not endorsed as definitive practice. These compilations are part of the committee's goal to help identify best-practice and appropriate standards for clinical management of pediatric surgical disease. Continuing medical education maintenance of certification self-assessment credit for the literature reviews is available through APSA's ExPERT CME Program. View the Surgical Critical Care Committee Literature Reviews.



Ronald B. Hirschl - Liaison
CS Mott Children's Hospital
Samir K. Gadepalli - Chair
Univ of Michigan
Alexander Feliz - Vice Chair
LeBonheur Children's Hosp
Shahab F. Abdessalam - Member
Children's Hosp & Med Ctr of Omaha
Robert D. Acton - Member
Univ of Minnesota Children's Hospital
Pablo Aguayo - Member
The Children's Mercy Hospital
Jennifer H. Aldrink - Member
Nationwide Children's Hospital OSU College of Med
Mary K. Arbuthnot - Member
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
Meghan A. Arnold - Member
CS Mott Children's Hospital
Laura A. Boomer - Member
Children's Hospital of Richmond, VCU Health
Michael W. Dingeldein - Member
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Natalie A. Drucker - Member
J. Craig Egan - Member
Phoenix Children's Hospital
Alejandro Garcia - Member
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Denise B. Klinkner - Member
Mayo Clinic
Carrie A. Laituri - Member
Joe DiMaggio Children's Hospital
Christopher R. Newton - Member
Children's Hospital Oakland
Samuel E. Rice-Townsend - Member
Boston Children's Hospital
Ana Ruzic - Member
Kentucky Children's Hospital
Sabina M. Siddiqui - Member
Medical College of Wisconsin
Adam M. Vogel - Member
Texas Children's Hospital