Pediatric Surgery Training Programs

Looking for a pediatric surgery training program? APSA can help, with current listings from major research institutions around the country and Canada.

 2020 Match Schedule: view the interview schedule for fellowship positions starting in 2020.

What are the characteristics of the ideal candidate?

Association of Pediatric Surgery Training Program Directors (APSTPD)

Barbara A. Gaines, MD - President
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
barbara.gaines@chp.edu 

Benedict C. Nwomeh, MD - Secretary
Nationwide Children's Hospital, Columbus, OH
benedict.nwomeh@nationwidechildrens.org 

 

UNITED STATES

Alabama | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida 
Georgia | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kentucky | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Mississippi | Missouri 
Nebraska | New York | Ohio | OklahomaOregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island
Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Washington | Wisconsin

CANADA

Alberta | British Columbia | Nova Scotia | Ontario | Quebec

Alabama
Mike K. Chen, MD
University of Alabama Medical Center
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1600 7th Avenue, South, ACC300
Birmingham, AL 35233
205-939-9751
mike.chen@childrensal.org

Arizona
Daniel J. Ostlie, MD
Phoenix Children's Hospital
Mayo Clinic of Arizona
Administration, Suite 1350
1919 E. Thomas Road
Phoenix, AZ 85016
602-933-7003
dostlie@phoenixchildrens.com 

Arkansas
Sid Dassinger, MD
University of Arkansas 
Arkansas Children's Hospital
800 Marshall Street
Little Rock, AR 72202
501-364-2943
dassingermelvins@uams.edu 

California
Edward Tagge, MD
Loma Linda University and Children's Hospital
Division of Pediatric Surgery
11175 Campus Street, CP 21111
Loma Linda, CA 92354
909-558-4619
etagge@llu.edu

Jeffrey S. Upperman, MD
University of Southern California
Children's Hospital of Los Angeles
4650 Sunset Boulevard
MS #100
Los Angeles, CA 90027
323-361-7078
jupperman@chla.usc.edu

Timothy J. Fairbanks, MD
UCSD/Rady Children's Hospital
3030 Children's Way, Suite 107
San Diego, CA  92123
858-966-7711
tfairbanks@rchsd.org

Hanmin Lee, MD
UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital
Division of Pediatric Surgery
1975 Fourth Street
C-2905
San Francisco, CA  94143
415-476-4086
Hanmin.lee@ucsf.edu
 

Matias Bruzoni, MD
Stanford University Medical Center
Lucile Packard Children's Hospital
300 Pasteur Drive
Alway Bldg, M116
Stanford, CA 94305
650-723-6439
mbruzoni@stanfordchildrens.org 
 

Colorado
Frederick M. Karrer, MD
University of Colorado
Children's Hospital Colorado
Department of Pediatric Surgery, B-323
13123 E.16th Avenue
Aurora, CO 80045
720-777-4531
fritz.karrer@childrenscolorado.org

Connecticut
Christine M. Finck
University of Connecticut
Connecticut Children's Medical Center
282 Washington Street
Hartford, CT 06106
860-610-4227
cfinck@connecticutchildrens.org

Robert A. Cowles, MD
Yale-New Haven Hospital
Yale University School of Medicine
333 Cedar Street, FMB 131
P.O. Box 208062
New Haven, CT 06520-8062
203-785-2701
robert.cowles@yale.edu

Delaware
Loren Berman, MD
Thomas Jefferson/A.I. duPont Hospital for Children
1600 Rockland Road
Wilmington, DE  19803
302-651-5888
loren.berman@nemours.org​ 

District of Columbia
Andrea T. Badillo, MD
George Washington University
Children's National Medical Center
111 Michigan Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20010
202-476-2151
abadillo@cnmc.org 

Florida
Cathy A. Burnweit, MD
Nicklaus Children's Hospital
3200 SW 60th Court, Suite 201
Miami, FL 33155
305-662-8320
cathy.burnweit@mch.com  

Janice Taylor, MD
University of Florida
P.O. Box 100286
Gainesville, FL 32610
352-273-8825
janice.taylor@surgery.ufl.edu

Paul D. Danielson, MD
Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital
601 Fifth Street South
Dept 70-6600
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
727-767-8810
Paul.Danielson@jhmi.edu

Georgia
Matt S. Clifton, MD
Emory University School of Medicine
Children's Healthcare of Atlanta
1405 Clifton Road, N.E.
3rd Floor Surgical Services
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-785-0781
mclifto@emory.edu

Illinois
Katherine Barsness, MD
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
225 E. Chicago Avenue 
Box #63
Chicago, IL 60611
312-227-4210
kbarsness@luriechildrens.org

Grace Mak, MD
University of Chicago
Comer Children's Hospital
5839 S. Maryland Avenue
MC 4062
Chicago, IL 60637
773-834-0516
gmak@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Top

Indiana
Alan Ladd, MD
Indiana University School of Medicine
JW Riley Hospital for Children
Indiana University School of Medicine
702 Barnhill Drive, Suite 2500
Indianapolis, IN 46202
317-274-4681
aladd@iupui.edu

Iowa
Joel Shilyansky, MD
University of Iowa Children's Hospital
Division of Pediatric Surgery
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-356-1766
joel-shilyansky@uiowa.edu
 

Kentucky
Cynthia D. Downard, MD
Norton Children's Hospital
315 E Broadway Ste 565
Louisville, KY 40202
502-629-8630
C0Down01@louisville.edu

Maryland
Samuel M. Alaish, MD
The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Bloomberg Children's Center, Suite 7331
1800 Orleans Street
Baltimore, MD 21287-0005
443-287-3160
salaish1@jhmi.edu

 

Massachusetts
Craig W. Lillehei, MD
Harvard University
Boston Children's Hospital
Department of Surgery
300 Longwood Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
617-355-4503
craig.lillehei@childrens.harvard.edu

Michigan
Scott E. Langenburg, MD
Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center
Children's Hospital of Michigan
3901 Beaubien Boulevard
Detroit, MI 48201
313-745-5881
langburg@mac.com

Peter F. Ehrlich, MD MSc
University of Michigan
CS Mott Children's Hospital
1540 E Hospital Dr, SPC 4211
F3970 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0245
734-615-3298
pehrlich@med.umich.edu

Mississippi
David E. Sawaya, MD
University of Mississippi Medical Center
2500 N. State St
Jackson, MS 39216
601-984-5050
dsawaya@umc.edu

Missouri
Colleen M. Fitzpatrick, MD
Saint Louis University/ Cardinal Glennon Children's Medical Center
1465 South Grand Blvd
Saint Louis , MO 63104
314-577-5629
colleen.fitzpatrick@health.slu.edu

Shawn D. St. Peter, MD
University of Missouri at Kansas City
Children's Mercy Hospital
2401 Gillham road
Kansas City, MO 64108
816-983-6465
sspeter@cmh.edu

Patrick Dillon, MD
Washington University/B-JH/SLCH Consortium
St. Louis Children's Hospital
One Children's Place, Suite 5S60
St. Louis, MO 63110
314-454-6022
dillonp@wustl.edu

Top

Nebraska
Robert A. Cusick, MD
University of Nebraska
Children's Hospital of Omaha
8200 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68114
402-955-7400
rcusick@childrensomaha.org

New York
Samuel Z. Soffer, MD
Cohen Children's Medical Center
NY NSLHS/Hofstra North Shore
269-01 76th Avenue
New Hyde Park, NY 11040
718-470-3636
ssoffer@nshs.edu

William Middlesworth, MD
Columbia Univesity
New York Presbyterian
Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital
3959 Broadway
CHN 216-B
New York, NY 10032
212-342-8585
wm61@columbia.edu

Carroll M. Harmon, MD
University at Buffalo Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Services
Department of Pediatric Surgery
John R Oishei Children's Hospital
1001 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14203
716-323-6110
Charmon@kaleidahealth.org

Ohio
Greg Tiao, MD
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
3333 Burnet Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45229
513-636-7365
greg.tiao@cchmc.org

Benedict Nwomeh
Nationwide Children's Hospital
700 Children's Drive
ED-379
Columbus, OH 43205
614-722-3972
benedict.nwomeh@nationwidechildrens.org

Oklahoma
Cameron Mantor, MD
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
1200 Everett Drive
Ste 2320
Oklahoma City, OK 73104
405-271-5922
cameron-mantor@ouhsc.edu

Top

Oregon
Sanjay Krishnaswami, MD
Oregon Health and Sciences University
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park RdCDW-7
Portland, OR 97239
503-460-0065
krishnas@ohsu.edu

Pennsylvania
Barbara A. Gaines, MD
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Department of Pediatric General & Thoracic Surgery
One Children's Hospital Drive
4401 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA  15224
412-692-8288
barbara.gaines@chp.edu

Thane A. Blinman, MD
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-590-4510
blinman@email.chop.edu

Rajeev Prasad, MD
St. Christopher's Hospital for Children
Erie Avenue at Front Street
Philadelphia, PA 19134
215-427-5446
Rajeev.prasad@americanacademic.com

Rhode Island
Arlet G. Kurkchubasche, MD
Brown University
Hasbro Children's Hospital
2 Dudley Street, Suite 190
Providence, RI 02905
401-421-1939
arlet_kurkchubasche@brown.edu

Tennessee
Eunice Huang, MD
University of Tennessee
Health Science Center
51 N. Dunlap, Suite 220
Memphis, TN 38105
901-287-6300
ehuang@uthsc.edu

Harold N. Lovvorn, III, M.D.
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt
2200 Children's Way, Suite 7100
Nashville, TN 37232
615-936-1050
dai.chung@vanderbilt.edu

Top

Texas
KuoJen Tsao, MD
University of Texas
6431 Fannin Street
Suite 5.258
Houston, TX 77030
713-500-7300
kuojen.tsao@uth.tmc.edu

Mark V. Mazziotti, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Texas Children's Hospital
6701 Fannin St. Suite 1210
Houston, TX 77030-2399
832-822-3135
mvmazziotti@gmail.com

Diana L. Diesen, MD
University of Texas
Southwestern Medical School
Children's Medical Center
1935 Medical District Drive
Suite D2032
Dallas, TX 75235
214-456-6040
diana.diesen@childrens.com

Utah
Douglas C. Barnhart, MD
Primary Children's Medical Center
100 N. Mario Capecchi, Ste 2600
Salt Lake City, UT 84113-1103
801- 662-2950
douglas.barnhart@imail.org

Washington
Patrick Javid, MD
University of Washington
Seattle Children's Hospital
Department of Surgery, OA.9.220
4800 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98105
206-987-6129
patrick.javid@seattlechildrens.org

Wisconsin
Casey Calkins, MD
Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
9000 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53226
414-266-6550
ccalkins@chw.org

Top

CANADA

Alberta
Steven R. Lopushinsky, MD
University Calgary
Alberta Children's Hospital
2888 Shaganappi Trail NW
Calgary, AB T3B 6A8
403-955-2460
steven.lopushinsky@albertahealthservices.ca

British Columbia
Robert J. Baird, MD
University of British Columbia
B.C. Children's Hospital
BCCH - Surgery
K0-134, 4480 Oak Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3V4
robert.baird@cw.bc.ca

Nova Scotia
Rodrigo Romao, MD
Dalhousie University, Halifax
IWK Health Centre
Children's Site
5950-5980 University Avenue
Halifax, NS B3J 3G9
902-470-8114
rodrigo.romao@iwk.nshealth.ca

Ontario
Georges Azzie, MD
University of Toronto
The Hospital for Sick Children
Department of Pediatric Surgery
1505-555 University Ave
Toronto, ON M5G 1X8
416-813-7654 x 202413
geoazz@hotmail.com

Kyle Cowan, MD
University of Ottawa
Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
401 Smyth Road
Ottawa, ON K1H 8L1
kcowan@cheo.on.ca

Lisa VanHouwelingen, MD
McMaster Children's Hospital
1200 Main Street, W.
#4E8
Hamilton, ON L8N 3Z5
905-521-2100 x75244
vanhoul@mcmaster.ca

Quebec
Pramod S. Puligandla, MD
McGill University
Department of Surgery
Montreal Children's Hospital
2300 Tupper Street
Montreal, QC H3H 1P3
514-412-4438
pramod.puligandla@mcgill.ca

Ann Aspirot, MD
Universite de Montreal
Departement de Chirurgie
Hopital Sainte-Justine
3175 chemin cote Ste-Catherine
Montreal, QC H3T 1C5
514-345-4931
ann.aspirot.hsj@sss.gouv.qc.ca

Top